Thursday November 27, 2014

Football Elecs honour best at awards banquet


The ECS Elecs' football team handed out some hardware and paid tribute to their graduating players at their year-end awards night Thursday.

Defensive lineman Stefan Seipp was named the team's most valuable player. Linebacker Elijah Watchman, who has been named the Moose Jaw High School Football League's defensive player of the year, earned the linebacker of the year award.

Seipp was forced to play several positions near the end of the year when injuries struck, including offensive line and fullback. Watchman anchored the team's defence, which often held the Elecs in games. Both are among the team's 17 graduating players.

Brody Slykhuis earned the "Who Are We" award for leadership, perseverance and dedication.

Other award winners were quarterback Kolby Fleury (rookie of the year), Tyson Wilhelm (top offensive lineman), Ian Ferguson (top receiver), Dustin MacCuish (top offensive back), Chris Strongeagle (top defensive lineman), Jaren Prokop (top defensive back) and punter Kyle Hovind (top special teams player).



NOTE: To post a comment in the new commenting system you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Yahoo, OpenID. You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Estevan Mercury welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

blog comments powered by Disqus



Lost your password?