Saturday November 22, 2014

Open spiel draws 16 teams

Edam Notables

Spring seems to have finally sprung with the farmers getting on the land. Calving season is nearly done for another year and the cattle will soon be heading to the pastures.

The annual Edam Open Bonspiel ran from March 22 to 25 with 16 teams taking part. The A event was won by Charles Stein, Jason Stein, Tom Brown and Allan Stein with the Kevin Vallier team placing second, third went to Barry Weitzel and Roland Olson placing fourth. The B event winners were Kirstin Bru, David Code, Jacquie Code and Clifford MacNabb, with second going to Andy Russettís team, third to Brandon Doom and fourth to Richard Doom. Winning the C event was Harry Lake, Jean Lake, Allan Dmytryshyn and Diane Perkins with second place going to Gerry Gordon team, third to Larry McDaid and fourth to John Hritzuk.

April 10 a meeting was held at the fire hall at 1 p.m. to inform the public of the new official community plan and zoning bylaws. What is an official community plan? This is a document created by the municipality that helps guide new development in order to help people understand where the best places are to develop new services. The RM of Turtle River has created a draft official community plan and zoning bylaw to help the community ensure development takes place in a fair and effective way that serves all residents of the RM. For further information you can stop in at the RM office or Keith Folkerson at

April 13 brought the final Edam Handi Van bingo of the season at 7:30 p.m. at the seniorsí centre. Winners this month were Kyle Morin, Herman Hoogland, Huguette MacGregorłGiselle Bec, Irene Carlson, Kay Mannix, Meagen Mannix, Eddy Mannix, Brenda Pollard, Dora Greening and winner of the surprise basket (blackout game) was Jessie Armstrong. Winning the childrenís draws, donated by Jessie Bergeron, were Kylee Bec and Brooke Bonsan. The new season of bingos for the handi van will start in October. There was also a call for volunteer drivers, so anyone who has a driverís license would be welcomed.

The annual general meeting for the Edam Credit Union Limited was held on April 18 at the Edam Community Centre. The evening started with a delicious supper served by the Edam Catering Club. This was followed by the AGM with president Evelyn Cooper calling the meeting to order. There was a moment of silence for those members who have passed away since the last AGM.

Guests from other credit unions were Bill Quinn and Ian Heggstrom from Turtleford, Ross Houston and his wife Michelle from Synergy, Wayne Reed from Spiritwood, Jerome Bru, Bill Volk and John Jangula from Innovation were also in attendance. There were 65 members in attendance that resulted in a quorum being declared.

Directors Karen McCaffrey, Trinda Delainey and Larry McDaid have completed their terms. Karen McCaffrey, Lucie Baillargeon and Larry McDaid were nominated and as there were no other nomination from the floor, they were elected by acclamation.

There were several door prizes drawn for throughout the night with the winners as follows: Hazel Mosimann, Rose Anne Corbeil, Elaine Cole, Wes Elliott, Vivian Hanson and Bill Williamson. Winning the free year of member direct service was Diane Mosimann. This year local photography enthusiasts were featured. There was also encouragement to submit photos to the calendar contest with the deadline being June 29. For more information contact the office or go to website.

That is all that I have for this week. Enjoy the great weather that we are having. I am, and Iím eagerly looking forward to the May long weekend and taking the camper out for the first time this season.



NOTE: To post a comment in the new commenting system you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Yahoo, OpenID. You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The The Battlefords News-Optimist welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Quick Vote

Survey results are meant for general information only, and are not based on recognised statistical methods.



Lost your password?