Saturday October 25, 2014

Neilburg Bowling Association awards presented

Neilburg News and Views

The Neilburg and District Bowling Association held their annual spring awards banquet and annual meeting April 12, in the Neilburg Community Hall.

After a delicious supper, the annual meeting was held. The financial statement was accepted as presented. The election of officers was held with Bernadette Poppleton accepting another term as president. Wade Worman was selected as the vice-president, Roxanne Becotte is the secretary and Darlene Rutherford will continue in her role as treasurer.

The price of the yearly bowling membership will go up by $3 to $15, however the fee for three games will remain at $6. Shoe rental costs will also stay the same at 50 cents per time. It was decided to go back to the three week format for roll-offs, instead of the two that were held this past season. This will give a total of 19 weeks of bowling for the upcoming 2012-2013 season.

It was also decided to up the insurance on the contents of the building to bring it to replacement cost. This will see an increase in the premium paid, however the association is currently underinsured and a majority of members agreed this should be rectified.

Travis Lindsay was the lucky winner of $132 in the 50/50 draw. Les Christensen won the menís door prize. Shirley Nuspl took home the womenís door prize and Ashlyn Lepine won the childrenís gift.

Once the annual meeting was adjourned, awards were announced. Bernadette Poppleton won the Ladiesí Association High Average with a tally of 177. Steven Ryan was the Menís Association High Average with 202 points. Tamara Ryan tied with her mother, Darlene Rutherford for the Ladiesí Association High Triple. Both ladies attained a score of 600. Robert Mantie was the Menís Association High Triple winner with 698.

Beatrice Ryan was the Ladiesí Association High Single award winner with a tally of 227. Lyle Thom was the Menís Association High Single winner with 275. Laurel Weiss was the Most Improved Lady adding 25 to her average. Wayne Johnson was the Most Improved on the menís side, adding an additional 16 points to his average score.

The Standbyes won the Team High Triple (with a score of 2877). They also took top honours as the Association Roll-Off Winners. Team members were: Darlene Rutherford, Roxanne Becotte, Steven Ryan, Diane Powers and Tom Poppleton.

The Team High Single award went to the Poppleton team from the Wednesday, 7 p.m. league. They had a tally of 1016 points. Players were: Bernadette Poppleton, Bob Marling, Jim Marling, Robert Mantie and Jack Worman.

A special award was also presented to Laurel Weiss for the many years of service as a league secretary and for all her "behind the scenes" volunteer work.

After the awards were presented, a silent auction and bake sale was held. The event raised $2,805.25 for the non-profit organization ($1,169 from the supper, $1,384 - silent auction, $132 - 50/50 draw and $120.25 from the bake sale).

Watch for posters in the fall for the upcoming bowling season. New bowlers are always welcomed.



NOTE: To post a comment in the new commenting system you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Yahoo, OpenID. You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The The Battlefords News-Optimist welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Quick Vote

Survey results are meant for general information only, and are not based on recognised statistical methods.



Lost your password?