Seven local governments sign regional framework

The National Indigenous Day celebration in downtown North Battleford was more than pancakes on Friday, as seven local governments signed a regional co-operative framework.

The framework encourages the governments to work together in various areas, and to co-operate to reduce poverty, addictions and homelessness. A working committee is also a result of the agreement.

article continues below

The agreement was signed by North Battleford Mayor Ryan Bater, Battleford Mayor Ames Leslie, Sweetgrass Chief Laurence Paskemin, Little Pine Chief Wayne Semaganis, Moosomin Chief Bradley Swiftwolfe, Saulteaux Chief Kenny Moccasin and Lucky Man Chief Crystal Okemow.

The event was attended by BATC/FSIN Senator Jenny Spyglass, Battlefords-Lloydminster MP Rosemarie Falk, Battlefords MLA Herb Cox, Cut Knife-Turtleford MLA Larry Doke, and Biggar-Sask.Valley MLA Randy Weekes.

Former resident, businessman and philanthropist W. Brett Wilson was also in attendance.

Mayor Ryan Bater said the framework could help regional leaders address and decrease poverty, addictions and homelessness.

“We’re going to have the country watching us and we’re going to show them how to do it properly, that is our hope,” Bater said.

Battleford Mayor Ames Leslie said the framework won’t change what happened years ago but that Battleford town council has a responsibility in making history known.

© Copyright Battlefords News Optimist