NWC awards more than $46,000 in completion scholarships


North West College has highlighted some of this year’s brightest and best students with the naming of North West College’s Completion Scholarship recipients.

article continues below

Approximately $46,000 was awarded to 30 students enrolled in post-secondary programs at North West College. Recipients demonstrated outstanding academic achievement, leadership and commitment to pursuing advancement in post-secondary education.

These scholarships are made possible by gifts from individual and corporate donors, as well as a grant from the Saskatchewan Innovation & Opportunity Scholarships (SIOS) program, administered through the Ministry of Advanced Education. Through this program, the Saskatchewan Government matches every dollar the College receives for scholarships from local industry partners and private donors, thus doubling the resources to support even more students in our region. During the 2019-2020 academic year, North West College awarded over $115,000 in scholarships to its students.

“I am continually amazed by the accomplishments of our students. This year in particular our students showed unwavering perseverance and determination to navigate through these challenging times and came out on top,” said Jay Notay, president and CEO of North West College. “I am proud we are able to recognize their success. Their persistence, determination and resilience will take them far as they embark on their next stages of life.”

2020 Completion Scholarship winners:

Battle River Treaty 6 Health Services Scholarship $500: Kendra Wuttunee, Continuing Care Assistant Program;

BUH Health Care Foundation Scholarship $500: Whitney Allison, Continuing Care Assistant Program;

HRO Leaders Of Tomorrow Scholarship $2,500: Shelbee Mitchell-Malinowski, Business Program;

HRO Leaders of Tomorrow Scholarship $2,500: Marla Degenstein, Office Administration Program;

Innovation Credit Union Community Leaders Scholarship $2,000: Savanna Russel, Welding Program;

Innovation Credit Union Community Leaders Scholarship $2,000: Mabel Angus, Continuing Care Assistant Program;

Innovation Credit Union Community Leaders Scholarship $2,000: Whitney Allison, Continuing Care Assistant Program;

Innovation Credit Union Community Leaders Scholarship $2,000: Tiffany Kennedy, Continuing Care Assistant Program;

Jason Vany Memorial Scholarship $1,000: Whitney Allison, Continuing Care Assistant Program;

North Battleford Firefighters Local 1756 Scholarship $1,000: Serenity Weber-Bjerkness, Continuing Care Assistant Program;

Pat Bacon Memorial Bursary $800: Cathleen Oftedal, Office Administration Program.

Presidents Achievement Scholarship $1,500 each:

Sheldon Fox, Business Program;

Jackie Sarvas, Community Mental Health Program;

Lori Ferguson, Continuing Care Assistant Program;

Laura Thomas, Continuing Care Assistant Program;

Reva Booker, Continuing Care Assistant Program;

Addie Francis, Early Childhood Education Program;

Marsha Cardinal, Early Childhood Education Program;

Tristin Tarasoff, Electrician Program;

Mary Jane Ananas, Food Service Cook Program;

Sabrina Dreaver, Food Service Cook Program;

James Kytwayhat, Forest to Fork Program;

Jessica Oborowsky, Hairstylist Program;

Tyler Illingworth, Heavy Equipment Truck & Transport Technician Program;

Ilse Moolman, Office Administration Program;

Cynthia Dreaver, Office Administration Program;

Herman Wolfe, Plumbing and Pipefitting Program;

Krista Montgomery, Professional Cooking Program;

Randy Semaganis, Retail Meat Specialist Program;

Arlan Lumgair, Welding Program;

Elana Laprell, Welding Program.

Thanks to the generosity of donors, businesses and the SIOS program, any student applying for a post-secondary program before the August 1st deadline will be eligible to receive an entrance scholarship with North West College. Applications for 2020-21 programs are available. Apply soon as some programs are already full.

© Copyright Battlefords News Optimist