RM of Round Hill celebrates 100 years

The 100th anniversary celebration for the Rural Municipality of Round Hill No. 467 was held Sunday, Aug. 7, 2011 at the Sandwith Community Hall.

The area of townships 46, 47 and 48 of ranges13, 14 and 15, west of the third meridian, settled quickly after the railway came to North Battleford and in 1908 Local Improvement District (LID) No. 467 was established. It is thought that a fire destroyed some of the earlier records as the first council meeting for which minutes are available was held Tuesday, Jan. 4, 1910 at the Tingley's ranch. Councillors Neale Bubb, Finley and Grosjean were present. Fred W. Stannard was appointed secretary-treasurer of the LID.

article continues below

Names suggested for the RM were Round Hill, King George, Finlayson-Coronation and Hyde Park. The Rural Municipality of Round Hill was incorporated Dec. 11, 1911. The first meeting was held Jan. 2, 1912 at W.B. Neale Bubbs's.

The celebration day was filled with socializing of old and new, young and old, reminiscing over old photos, records, the homestead map and office paraphernalia from days gone by. Over 150 people attended the celebration and nearly half took home a prize from the draws throughout the day. Numerous businesses from the area supplied hats, pens, bags, mugs, lunch kits, barbecue amenities, shirts, jackets, die-cast models, certificates, toolboxes and much more. The lucky winner of the Roughrider jersey was Darcy Loewen.

Among those in attendance were dignitaries David Marit, SARM president, and Darryl Senecal, SARM Division 6 director.

The Sandwith ladies catered delicious beef on a bun, salads and dessert to the crowd for supper.

Following the meal, William Geates, Reeve of the Rural Municipality of Round Hill, greeted the guests with a few words about the RM history, referring to the perseverance and determination of our forefathers, the need for a local government and how they planned and worked for the infrastructure and how today it is up to the people to plan for our needs for future years.

David Marit introduced the beginning days of the Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities, speaking of how convention resolutions from 100 years ago are addressed similarly at today's conventions and how the organization represents rural Saskatchewan to higher levels of government.

Darryl Senecal made a presentation to Reeve William Geates for the 100th anniversary with a 100th anniversary certificate. Alvin Wiebe, councillor for Division 5, was presented a certificate for 20 years of service in rural municipal government.

The guests thoroughly enjoyed the evening entertainment provided by Doug Arden - a combination of ventriloquism, magic and comedy with audience participation that was hilarious!

The Rural Municipality of Round Hill No. 467 would like to thank everyone who attended, everyone who helped organize and everyone who donated for the celebration!

© Copyright Battlefords News Optimist