Tanya Aguilar-Antiman new Mosquito chief

There is a new chief on Mosquito Grizzly Bear’s Head Lean Man First Nation.

Tanya Aguilar-Antiman won the vote to become the new chief and was sworn in this week. According to results posted on Mosquito’s website, she finished first with 196 votes. Noel Stone Jr. finished second with 132, incumbent Chief Daniel Starchief was third at 121, Solomon Stuart Mosquito was fourth at 119 and John Spyglass finished fifth with 37 votes.

article continues below

Councillors elected were, in order of finish, Kyle Stone, Brenda Mosquito, Laurie-Ann Moosomin, Deborah Stone and Tristan Bird.

In all, there were 40 candidates nominated to run for council and 613 ballots cast. The chief and council will all serve a two-year term.

© Copyright Battlefords News Optimist