Saskatchewan Country Music will go virtual for annual awards show

In a news release sent out on Sunday, The Board of Directors of the Saskatchewan Country Music Awards announced that they will be hosting a Virtual Awards Show on May 16. The show will air on Access7 Cable TV at 8:00p.m. on May 16 and it will also be available via a link at  This event replaces the SCMA Awards Weekend which had previously been scheduled to take place in Regina in mid-April. 

 The Saskatchewan Country Music Association is a non-profit organization, dedicated to the promotion, development, and enhancement of all aspects of Saskatchewan country music at the local, national, and international levels.  For 31 years, Saskatchewan Country Music Awards has been honouring some of the best country and roots music in Canada and is Saskatchewan’s biggest and longest running Awards Show.   This year the nominees include local super star Tenille Arts, The Hunter Brothers,  Chris Henderson, Samara Yung, Brody Siebert, Justin LaBrash, Amy Nelson, Alex Runions, JJ Voss, The North Sound and more.

article continues below

Along with recognizing and announcing all of the 2019 SCMA Award winners in each category, the broadcast will also feature performances by many of the past and current SCMA artists.

Tenille Arts has been nominated for Fans Choice Entertainer of the Year, Female Artist, Single of the Year, Video of the Year and Interactive Artist of Group of the Year.

Below is the list of some categories and nominees for the awards. Find the full list at

Fans Choice Entertainer of the Year

  • The Trudel Family
  • Tenille Arts
  • Hunter Brothers
  • Samara Yung
  • Amy Nelson
  • Justin LaBrash

Female Artist

  • Samara Yung
  • Amanda Hagel
  • Stephanie Rose
  • Tenille Arts
  • Amy Nelson

 Male Artist

  • Chris Henderson
  • Justin LaBrash
  • Brock Andrews
  • Alex Runions
  • Brody Siebert

 Group/Duo of the Year

  • Scarecrow
  • Hunter Brothers
  • Aces Wyld
  • Munro & Patrick
  • The Trudel Family

 Single of the Year * The single that has the highest amount of spins throughout the eligibility period as reported by Trax Report will receive this award*

  • Lost – Hunter Brothers
  • Save Some of That Whiskey – Jess Moskaluke
  • Northern Lights – Hunter Brothers
  • Swerve – Samara Yung
  • Mad Crazy Love – Tenille Art

Songwriter(s) Of the Year

  • Chris Henderson and Troy Kokol – Bad Memory  (Performed by Chris Henderson)
  • Doug Sylvester, Jesse Weiman, Scott Patrick & Lane Shields – Lake Days  (Performed by Lane Shields)
  • J.J. Voss, Mike Plume -Some People  (Performed by J.J. Voss)
  • Tenille Arts, Alex Kline & Allison Veltz -Somebody Like That (Performed by Tenille Arts)
  • Alex Runions & Chris Burke-Gaffney – Heartland (Performed by Alex Runions)
  • Brody Siebert, Aaron Goodvin & Larry McCoy – Goodbye Drunk (Performed by Brody Siebert)

Album or EP of the Year

  • Point of View – Chris Henderson
  • Sending Heart Shaped Snowflakes for Christmas – Various Artists
  • State of Mind – Hunter Brothers
  • Good Intentions – Amy Nelson
  • Brody Siebert – Brody Siebert

Video of the Year

  • Way Crazy – Justin LaBrash (Directors: Francois DeNysschen, Brad Pederson, Andrew Sorsdahl)
  • Silver Lining – Hunter Brothers  (Director: The Edde Brothers)
  • Some People – J.J. Voss  (Director: Joel Stewart and Pre-Historic Productions)
  • Somebody Like That – Tenille Arts (Directors: Stephen & Alexa Kinigopoulos)
  • Goodbye Drunk – Brody Siebert (Director: Jody Weiman, Strike Films )

 Emerging Artist of the Year

  • Jordyn Pollard
  • The North Sound
  • Tayler Tluchak
  • Stephanie Rose
  • Topher Mils
  • Lane Shields
  • L.J. Tyson

Interactive Artist or Group of the Year

  • Justin LaBrash
  • Samara Yung
  • Hunter Brothers
  • Lisa Moen
  • Tenille Arts
  • Amy Nelson

Roots Artist of the Year

  • The North Sound
  • Jay and Jo
  • Tommy John Ehman
  • Larry Krause
  • J.J. Voss

Music Festival of the Year

  • Country at the Creek
  • Country Thunder Saskatchewan
  • Chester Fest
  • Hillbilly Boogie
  • Ness Creek Music Festival

Music Venue of the Year

  • The Happy Nun Cafe, Forget, SK
  • Hank’s Tavern, Bradwell, SK
  • The Bassment, Saskatoon, SK
  • Longbranch Good Times Beverage Company, Saskatoon, SK
  • E.A. Rawlinson Centre, Prince Albert, SK

Country Music Person of the Year

  • Matt Ryan
  • Chris Henderson
  • Hal Schrenk
  • Brett Browatzke
  • Lisa Moen

Guitar Player of the Year

  • Jordan Toppings
  • Scott Patrick
  • J.J. Hunter
  • Graeme Trudel
  • Topher Mils

Bass Player of the Year

  • Curt Chobot
  • Brandon Ziola
  • Rob Ehman
  • Jesse Dawson
  • Luke Hunter

Drummer of the Year

  • Jayson Brinkworth
  • Mike James
  • Aaron Pritchard
  • Dusty Hunter
  • Darcy Deschambault

Keyboard Player of the Year

  • Jordan Toppings
  • Steve Gerein
  • Amy Nelson



Popular News Optimist

Community Event Calendar

Find out what's happening in your community and submit your own local events.