Action on the final green decided open champion

As the world's best golfers were on the course competing for the PGA Championship, some of the best the Battlefords and surrounding area has to offer were also on the course in North Battleford.

The North Battleford Golf and Country Club hosted the Labatt's Northwest Men's Amateur Open and 91 golfers took to the course throughout the three, hot and humid days. The number of golfers increased from last year's totals and so to did the excitement.

article continues below

After the practice rounds and skins were completed Friday, Saturday Tim Acaster jumped into the lead firing a 70 in the championship flight.

Acaster was grouped with Nevin Glo, Brett Harrison, Dave Curniski heading into Sunday's round and he led the championship flight by three strokes.

As Sunday continued, it turned into a two-player race between Glo and Acaster. After taking a double bogey on the 16th hole it appeared Glo was falling out of contention. Not the case, Glo recovered with a par and birdie to finish Sunday and Acaster was on the 18th green in two shots needing to two putt to force a playoff.

Acaster finished with a par on the 18th hole and fell one stroke back of Glo, who shot a second round 69 and a two-day total of 143 to win the championship.

Acaster was second with 144, while Dallas Mengel shot a 75 and 72 for third place, Greg Swenson shot a 76 and 72 for fourth place and Harrison shot two 74s for fifth place in the championship flight.

In the first flight, Blair Baert led the field with a 78 Saturday. Sunday, he followed that up with an impressive 71 to win his flight. In second place in the first flight was Riley Tyndall. Tyndall moved from a seven-way tie for third place into second place following Sunday's action. Derek Kopp, Fred Mathison and Mike Boymook rounded out the top five in the first flight.

John Higgs improved nine strokes from his first round to jump into the top spot in the second flight with a two-day total of 153. Marty Ring, Doug Beattie, Devin Kopp and Al Bahrey rounded out the top five of the second flight.

In the third flight it was Graham Campbell taking top honours with a 161. Jeff Gibson and Codie Loch also fired 161s while Rob Cook and Brian Lampitt were tied with scores of 164.

The fourth flight was won by Allan Hoffman with a 167, who overcame Will Rathje, the day-one leader. Jeff Kraftchuk was second, Rathje was third, Phil Booth was fourth and Aaron Borcshneck was fifth.

Richard Terry won the fifth flight with a 171. Taylor Holt, Jim Simon, Troy Tangedal and Arnold Heselwood all finished in the top five in the fifth flight.

The sixth, and final, flight was won by Wes Kamplan. Kamplan finished with a 182 edging out George Hardy, Dean Clark, Dean Custer and Brad Lamb.

© Copyright Battlefords News Optimist