Beavers versus Twins for NSRBL title

The final series is set in the North Saskatchewan River Baseball League,

The North Battleford Beavers have made the final against the Lloydminster Twins, and will begin the best of three finals series. Game one is in Lloydminster Aug 13, game two is Monday Aug. 17 in North Battleford, and game three if necessary is the next night, Aug.18, in Lloydminster. 

article continues below

The Beavers made the finals after sweeping both their playoff games on the weekend. They beat the Battlefords Trappers 4-0 on Saturday in North Battleford, and then they upset the defending champion Standard Hill Lakers 13-9 on Sunday.

The Twins got to the finals after beating the Border City Blue Jays 6-0 and then the Kindersley Stallions 6-2.

The Twins finished the season tied with the best record in the league at 7-1, good for first in the West division. The Beavers, meanwhile, had finished 4-4, behind the Trappers (5-3) and Standard Hill (7-1).

The league played a reduced schedule this season with each club playing eight times. All ten teams in the league this year were involved in the playoffs this year.

In the statistical categories, Brett Harrison of Standard Hill was the batting champion averaging .650 in 20 at bats, while Cooper Olson topped the pitching stats with four starts and a perfect ERA of 0.00.

The league has also announced the team MVPs for this season, all of whom are eligible for league MVP voting. Those are as follows:

East Division

Mervin Flyers - Drew Nelson

Standard Hill Lakers - Cooper Olson

Battlefords Trappers  - Bob Hudec

North Battleford Beavers - Damon Schaefer

Meadow Lake Sox - Nathan Dancy

West Division

Unity Cardinals - Braden Polreis

Unity Junior Cardinals - Tanner Huber

Border City Jays - Colby Field

Lloyd Twins - Jayden Gardner

KIndersley Stallions - Blake Robertson

© Copyright Battlefords News Optimist