North Battleford darts enthusiasts hit the bull’s eye

It has been a hectic last couple of weeks for darts players and organizers from North Battleford.

Players from the area were in action at two major events in the province in the past couple of weeks, one in Saskatoon and the other right here at home in North Battleford.

article continues below

First up in Saskatoon was the Main Event on April 5-7. This is one of Saskatchewan’s two National Darts Federation of Canada ranked events and also one of several Canadian events ranked by the British Darts Organization. Men’s and women’s singles events winners earned direct entry into the Winmau World Master’s tournament in England this October.

Results from the Blind Draw event on Friday saw Logan Crooks from Alberta and Noel Aucoin of North Battleford win the event. In mixed doubles, Jason Skinner of North Battleford and partner Stacey Ballentyne from Saskatoon placed a joint third in a field of 32 teams.

In women’s doubles, Angela Aucoin from North Battleford and Sandy Schallock from Alberta finished as runner-up to Linda Wilder and Michelle Spicer from Alberta in the finals.

In singles events, despite a strong contingent of North Battleford players, none finished in the top 16. There were 81 men’s and 29 women’s competitors in the field. Finishing first on the men’s side was Shawn Currie from Alberta while the women’s title went to Kristin Kovich from Manitoba.

Next up was the 40th Annual Saskatchewan Darts Association Provincial Championships April 12 to 14.

The North Battleford Zone hosted the event over three days at the Tropical Inn. A total of 34 men and 18 women from all over the province competed for the right to represent Saskatchewan at nationals in June in Saskatoon.

Eight competitors were from the North Battleford Zone. As it turned out, five of them earned spots on Team Saskatchewan. Jason Skinner, Noel Aucoin, Angela Aucoin, Melanie Thomas and Sharon Acker all earned top-nine finishes.

North Battleford also took the Zone Cup for the second straight year, awarded to the zone with the highest aggregate score per player.

Men’s results are as follows:

1 - Ashtin Bear, Prince Albert,

2 - Steve Kristjansson, Saskatoon,

3 - Jason Skinner, North Battleford,

4 - Kartsen Larsen, Saskatoon,

5 - John Brann, Regina,

6 - Myles Charles, Stanley Mission,

7 - Austin Morrison, Rosetown,

8 - Bobby Magalong, Saskatoon,

9 (Alternate) - Noel Aucoin, North Battleford.


Women’s results are as follows:

1 - Georgina Ratt, Stanley Mission,

2 - Angela Aucoin, North Battleford,

3 - Judy Cleaveley, Hudson Bay,

4 - Stacey Stephanson, Saskatoon,

5 - Aspen Hall, Moose Jaw,

6 - Bonnie Warn, Saskatoon,

7 - Shelley Stephanson, Saskatoon,

8 - Melanie Thomas, North Battleford,

9 (Alternate) - Sharon Acker, North Battleford.

Chester Sakebow from North Battleford finished 11th, Eric Sese finished a joint 24th and Jessica Lobb finished a joint 16th.

Thanks to Noel Aucoin, North Battleford Zone Director, for providing the News-Optimist with results from these two tournaments.  


© Copyright Battlefords News Optimist