Northwest well-represented at Tankard

The SaskTel Men’s Northern Qualifier concluded Sunday at Northland Power Curling Centre.

Four teams qualified from three events to move on to the SaskTel Tankard Men’s Provincial Curling Championship in Melville, beginning Jan. 29.

article continues below

Qualifying from the A event is Team Tenetuik with Cole Tenetuik (skip), Brennan Schiele (third), Matt Taylor (second) and Chadd McKenzie (lead). The Tenetuik team curls out of Twin Rivers Curling Club in North Battleford.

Qualifying from the B event is Team Kendel with Brady Kendel (skip), Jacob Hersikorn (third), Quinn Hersikorn (second) and Brandon Leippi (lead) from Sutherland Curling Club in Saskatoon.

C event qualifiers are Team Heidt — Brad Heidt (skip), Mark Lang (third), Glen Heitt (second) and Dan Ormsby (lead) from Kerrobert Curling Club and Team Fell — Lloyd Fell (skip), Robert Bakken (third), Trevor Gerein (second), Curtis Bowker (lead) from Unity Curling Club.

The Northwest was well represented as in addition to the teams from Twin Rivers, Kerrobert and Unity, Team Armstrong from Lashburn Curling Club and Team Drew Heidt from Unity reached the C event finals and former Battlefords area resident Aaron Shutra from Team Carss , Saskatoon reached the C semi-final.

Southern qualifiers are Josh Heidt and Jeff Hartung. Already set to compete in men’s provincials are teams Jacobson, Muyres, Gamble and Meacham.

Team Tenetuik joins Team Silvernagle from Twin Rivers on the women’s side as the men’s and women’s provincial championships will be played back to back in Melville, with the Viterra Scotties Women’s Championship beginning Friday.   


© Copyright Battlefords News Optimist