Rush announce protected list for NLL Expansion Draft

The Saskatchewan Rush have released the names of those on their Protected Player List for the upcoming 2021 Expansion Draft. 

General Manager Derek Keenan announced the list Tuesday in advance of the draft on June 29, which will see players selected by the new Panther City LC expansion team in Fort Worth, Texas.

article continues below

The Rush’s Protected Player list is:

On offence: Robert Church, Josh Currier, Ryan Keenan, Mark Matthews, and Marshall Powless.

On defence): Jeff Cornwall, Ryan Dilks, Holden Garlent, Connor McClelland, Mike Messenger, and Kyle Rubisch.

“Going through an Expansion Draft is difficult for established teams like the Rush,” said Keenan in a news release. “However, in the long term, expansion is great for the league and great for players.

Keenan made clear the club will only lose one player in the Expansion Draft.  He called it a difficult process with months of planning.

“There are multiple factors involved in these decisions. The age of the players, the ability to control movement rights of the players, and contract status, just to name a few. We will see what occurs on June 29 when the Expansion Draft is held and go from there.”

© Copyright Battlefords News Optimist