SPHL schedule now set; first games Nov. 27

The Saskatchewan Prairie Hockey League has finally released its schedule for the 2020-21 senior hockey season.

The season is set to begin Nov. 27 with a game between the Battlefords Beaver Blues and Radisson Wheatkings at the Battleford Arena at 8 p.m. Also scheduled that night are the Glaslyn North Stars at Turtleford Tigers at 8:30 p.m.

article continues below

Two more games are scheduled for Saturday, Nov. 28 as the Wheatkings host the Beaver Blues while Glaslyn hosts Turtleford. Three more games are scheduled for Dec. 4 and three on Dec. 5.

The schedule is subject to change if there are COVID-19 outbreaks prompting postponements or if there are new provincial restrictions imposed, as is the case for the other hockey leagues in the province. Arenas have COVID-19 protocols in place and those will be posted either on the league’s website or can be found at https://sha.sk.ca/news/return-to-hockey.

The SPHL will have seven teams this season: the Blues, Wheatkings, North Stars, Tigers, Maymont Settlers, Meota Combines and Spiritwood Timberwolves. The Perdue Pirates are taking a year off due to the COVID-19 pandemic.


© Copyright Battlefords News Optimist